Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

writer and founder of HOGO WOMEN

Basquiat, une vie

Basquiat, une vie

The black person is the protagonist in most of my paintings. I realized that I didn’t see many paintings with black people in them

[...]

I was a really lousy artist as a kid. Too abstract expressionist, or I’d draw a ram’s head, really messy. I’d never win painting contests. I remember losing to a guy who did a perfect
spiderman

[...]

Since I was seventeen I though I might be a star. I’d think about all my heroes, Charlie Parker, Jimi Hendrix…I had a romantic feeling about how these people became famous.

Jean-Michel Basquiat

Basquiat, une vie

C'est moi qui ait aidé Andy Warhol à peindre ! Cela faisait vingt ans qu'il n'avait pas touché un pinceau. Grâce à notre collaboration, il a pu retrouver sa relation à la peinture. Clemente était aussi de la partie. La production de peintures collectives nous a permis d'affirmer notre identité, chacun donnant à, prenant de, affectant l'autre.

[...]


J'ai eu un peu d'argent, j'ai fait les meilleures peintures. J'ai été complètement solitaire, j'ai beaucoup travaillé, j'ai pris beaucoup de drogue. J'ai été horrible avec les gens.

[...]


Croyez-le ou pas, je peux effectivement dessiner.

[...]

Je ne suis jamais allé en Afrique. Je suis un artiste qui a subi l’influence de son environnement New-Yorkais. Mais je possède une mémoire culturelle. Je n’ai pas besoin de la chercher, elle existe

Jean-Michel Basquiat

I am not a black artist, I am an artist.

[...]

I don't think about art when I'm working. I try to think about life.

[...]

I like kids' work more than work by real artists any day.

Jean-Michel Basquiat

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post